Skip to content

4 Months – Culture Shock & Reentry

November 7, 2011

It’s the 4 month mark. It seems hard to believe that we have been in the states for that long. I was looking up information on culture shock (for Enes) and reentry (for me) and just seeing that hey, its ok that we’re both a little stressed and trying to work through individually what we’re going through to be in the states and yes, this is a big deal for us.

I found this graph of culture shock and find that the timeline is true for what I experienced when I moved to Turkey, but also seeing where E is at being here. How do you help someone deal with culture shock…especially when they are in a lull, but for sure getting ready to move on to the upside of things?

I also found this picture that walks through what happens during culture shock. I know there are mistakes I made in Turkey dealing with culture shock at times and want to be able to share my experience in such a way that encourages freedom and doing things differently than I did. I don’t know the answer to that question and trying to figure that out.

On the other side, I go back and forth of negative and positive things about Turkey and America and the realization that I will never be the same as I was before going to Turkey. My world and life perspective is so different now, the bubble I was living in has popped. For the better good? I think so. I’m just trying to find my “new” self in America, or even more so, hoping America will be fine with my new self that landed on her soil 4 months ago. Ha!

I know we are stressed looking for jobs, we’re ready to find a place that is our home and to settle in. When I’m trying to work through the stress of it all, I have to remember it is VERY NORMAL to feel the way we are feeling right now.

S – T – R – E – T – C – H – E – D

I’m sure the celebration of finding that job and our home will be so sweet as we walk this out. I’m thinking cartwheels will be in order…

Praying for lots of grace through this process…and know that there is a purpose and a place for each and every step we take as we move forward.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. avery permalink
    November 22, 2011 12:58 pm

    Hi guys this is an awesome visual. I’m glad I found your blog, I’ll be praying for you. I know this is a real real hard time for you both!! Just hold on to the love you have for each other. Because without THAT you really can’t make it. I struggled trying to share my culture shock issues with S, but he had to do it his own way. Our relationship was a mess from the start no need to comment more on that, but it is not an easy place for the best of couples, so give each LOTS and LOTS of grace! Love ya both. And glad to find Enes’s Lentil soup recipe! with no et suyu. 🙂

    • November 27, 2011 6:55 pm

      Thanks Avery! We are doing really great and enjoying getting to be with family! Hope you enjoy Enes’ lentil soup recipe..it is AMAZING!! 🙂 Hope you are doing wonderful!

Leave a Reply

